Wizard of Oz

Wizard of Oz

By Frank L. Baum, music by Harold Arlen and E.Y. Harburg
By arrangement with Tams Whitmark Library

Season14-29 January 2000
Venue Belconnen Theatre


The Wizard of Oz tells the story of young Dorothy Gale who lives Kansas with her Aunty Em and Uncle Henry. Dorothy is attempting to run away when a twister strikes and she, her dog 'Toto' and her entire house is lifted up and transported over the rainbow into Munchkinland in the Land of Oz.

There she meets a colourful assortment of Munchkins, the Good Witch Glinda and the very wicked Witch of the West. Dorothy sets out for the Emerald City and is befriended by Scarecrow who wants a brain, Tinman who is looking for a heart and Lion who is seeking courage. They follow the Yellow Brick Road to see the wonderful Wizard of Oz.

The Wizard sends Dorothy and her friends to get to the broomstick of the Wicked Witch of the West. In their quest, they are bitten by the Jitterbugs, Dorothy is kidnapped by the Flying Monkeys and we meet the Witch's guards, the Winkies.

When Dorothy and her friends return triumphant with the Witch's broomstick, the Wizard proves to be less that wonderful! But the Wizard does help them to learn each character already had the very quality they were seeking. Dorothy returns to Kansas and we leave her surrounded by family and friends, confirming to all that there is really no place like home.


Director David Cannell and Kelda McManus
Musical Co-Ordinator Ewan Harwood
Vocal Director Kylie Higgins
Assistant Musical Co-Ordinator Jenny Kingwell
Choreographer Jordan Kelly
Production Manager Sarah Prosser
Stage Manager Lyn Benn
Assistant Stage Manager Jo Mullins
Set Design Ian Shepherd
Costume Design Melissa Lee
Lighting Design David Cannell
Sound Design Steve Herczeg, Trevor Dunham
Crew Judith Colqhoun, Em Taylor, Trevor Dunham, Rodwell Faulkner, Matt Kelly, Travis Harpley, Eun Bowen, Justin McEvay, Thea Van Os, Eva Cheng, Alana Potts
Set Construction Ian Shepherd, Trevor Dunham, Em Taylor, Bobbie Cerini, Margi Cassimaty, Richard Niven, Matt Kelly, Jo Mullins, Peter Benisch, Kelda McManus, Sahra Prosser, Jordan Prosser, Jarrett Prosser, Mark Jones, Amy Dunham, Bill Dunham, Josie Dunham, Rodwell Faulkner, Alex Hildyard
Set Artists Christiana Reid, Kerryn Hall, Christine Morris, Peita Chappell, Janis Blums, Herve Schmitt
Props John Cooke
Assistant Lighting Design Chris Neal
Lighting Operation David Cannell, Chris Neal, Alex Gould
Wizard Video Production Pat Gallagher
Assistant Costume Design Jody Potts
Costume Construction Melissa Lee, Jody Potts, Nadia Smith
Make Up Linda Thompson &Students from the Canberra Makeup Acadamy, Jenny Kingwell
Rehearsal Prompt Nola Russell
Munchkin Co-ordinator Thea Van Os
Munchkin Minders Bill Smith, Brad Girvan, Chris Costello, Chris Morris, Clare Purcell, Greg Purcell, Debbie Aldridge, Diane Martignago, Donna Favell, Helen Cory, Jane Sanders, Juliet Sera, Katja Mikailovich, Lindy Bancroft, Marzena Reid, Meredith Reid, Narelle Wickham, Renee Kirkham, Robyn Amann, Val Books, Will Sanders, Thea Van Os
Dog Breeder Liz Hindley
Dog Trainer Raelene Koerber
Publicity Pam McManus


Dorothy Gale Liana Jessop
Dorothy Understudy/Chorus Kyria Laird
Toto Jotruba Gypsy Belle (Bella)
Scarecrow/Hunk Brynn Clapp
Lion/Zeke Joe Dinn
Tinman/Hickory Aaron Grainger
Prof Marvel/Wizard of Oz Graham Bauerle
Miss Gultch/Wicked Witch of the West Marji Cassimaty
Glinda the Good Witch of the North Alex Hughes
Uncle Henry/The Guard Pat Gallagher
Aunt Em Pamela McManus
Mayor of Munchkin City Jordan Prosser
Coroner of Munchkin City Charlie Sanders
Barrister of Munchkin City Emilie van Os
Citizens of Oz and Winkies Megan Bolitho, Janis Blums, Rebecca Camilleri, Stephen Carberry, Craig Francis, Kerryn Hall, Alex Hughes, Jordan Kelly, Zoey Pepper, Lisa Pye, Johnno Quinn, Joel Radcliffe, Alyssa Sledge, Linda Smillie
Young Citizens of Oz Jordan Prosser, Erin Purcell, Charlie Sanders, Tallay Wickham
Tinman's Trees Janis Blums, Stephen Carberry, Joel Radcliffe
Lullaby League Hannah Amann, Daisy Sanders, Grace Smith
Lollipop Guild Leo Costelloe, Julian Favell, Yarran Regan
Citizens of Munchkin Land Tiana Cassimaty, Brandon Girvan, Garrett Kelly, Michele Kirkham, Johnny Morris, Erin Purcell, Mia Wasikowska, Tallay Wickham
Jitterbugs Michele Kirkham (Head Jitterbug), Garrett Kelly, Jordan Prosser, Erin Purcell, Charlie Sanders, Daisy Sanders, Emilie van Os, Mia Wasikowska
Monkeys Tallay Wickham (Head Monkey, Kikko), Tiana Cassimaty, Julian Favell, Brandon Girvan, Johnny Morris, Yarran Regan, Grace Smith


Canberra Area Theatre AwardsNominations

Best Actor in a Musical Joe Dinn
Best Supporting Actress in a Musical Marge Cassidy
Best Musical  
Best Director of a Musical David Cannell and Kelda McManus
Best Choreography Jordan Kelly
Best Costumes Melissa Lee