Half A Sixpence

Half A Sixpence

Book by Beverley Cross, music and lyrics by David Heneker
By arrangement with Warner/Chappell Music

Season 16 June-1 July 2000
Venue Belconnen Theatre


The story of Half a Sixpence is set in the English seaside town of Folkestone in around 1900. It concerns the lives of a range of characters from different levels of society. At the centre of the story is the lovable young cockney, Arthur Kipps, orphaned and penniless who is an apprentice draper in the emporium of the economy-minded Mr Shalford. Kipps pledges himself to this childhood sweetheart, Ann, each taking half a sixpence as a token of their love. Very soon after, however, Kipps is captured by the charms of the educated and cultured Helen whom he believes to be 'too far above me.' Almost by chance, Kipps learns that he has inherited a large fortune which brings the lovely Helen within his reach. From this point 'upper' and 'lower' classes intermingle in an amusing confusion of misunderstanding, misguided ambitions and prejudices.


Director Cathie Clelland
Musical Director Andrea Clifford
Vocal Director Kylie Higgins
Choreographer Belynda Buck
Production Manager Bob Morris
Stage Manager Myles Leon
Assistant Stage Manager Alex Hildyard
Set Design Quentin Mitchell
Costume Design Illona Murphy
Lighting Design Travis Harpley
Sound Design Rafe Morris
Make Up Sahra Prosser
Costume Co-ordinator Katie Sledge
Lighting Operators Elliott Wolf, Annab Meldrum
Props Co-ordinator Nick Leon
Set Construction Quentin Mitchell, Bob Morris, Myles Leon, Myles Lewis, Rodwell Faulkner
Crew Bob Morris, Andrew Topperwein, Eve Everard


Arthur Kipps Luke Barron
Ann Pornick Liana Jessop
Sid Pornick Peter Rodda
Buggins Janis Blums
Pearce Dim Ristevski
Carshot Rob Grice
Flo Bates Kylie Higgins
Kate Alyssa Sledge
Victoria Katie Methorst
Emma Kyria Laird
Mr Shalford Myles Lewis
Mrs Walsingham Pamela McManus
Mrs Botting Danni Abrahams
Young Walsingham Terry Johnson
Helen Walsingham Claire Bocking
Chitterlow David Cannell
Laura Linda Smillie
Lucy Lisa Snushall
Edith Sarah Hull
Mr Jones/Reporter Johno Quinn
Photographer Jordan Kelly
Assistant Photographer Jordan Prosser
Reporter/Military Canal Soloist Ken Goodge
Gwendolin Peita Chappell
Chorus Peita Chappell, Ken Goodge, Ewan Harwood, Sarah Hull, Jordan Kelly, Jordan Prosser, Johno Quinn, Linda Smillie, Lisa Snushall


Piano Colin Lacey
Bass Guitar Peter McDonald
Drums/Percussion Barry Pigram
Flute Lisa Nagy


Canberra Area Theatre AwardsNominations

Best Supporting Actor in a Musical David Cannell