Seussical the Musical

Seussical the Musical

Based on the works of Dr Seuss
Music by Stephen Flaherty, lyrics by Lynn Ahrens
By arrangement with Hal Leonard Australia

Season 14-29 January 2005
Venue Theatre 3


Seussical the Musical is a fun, family musical that brings the pages of many of the best loved books of Dr Seuss to the stage. The story is based on the books Horton Hears a Who and Horton Hatches the Egg, and incorporates other Dr Seuss characters such as the Cat in the Hat (as narrator), the Sour Kangaroo, Gertrude McFuzz , the Whos, the Grinch and many more.

The show begins with the imagination of a young boy (Jo Jo) bringing the Cat in the Hat out of the book and onto the stage. The Cat becomes the narrator and as the story begins. Horton the elephant hears the Whos (tiny people who live on a speck of dust) but none of the other jungle citizens believe him. Then Horton is manipulated into sitting on Mayzie La Bird’s egg while she goes on holiday. Adventure and chaos ensure as Horton tries to protect the Who’s and the egg while being caught by hunters, sold to a circus, and taken to court. Subplots include adventures in Whosville (including Christmas with the Grinch) and shy Gertrude McFuzz’s romantic pursuit of Horton.


Director Belinda Anyos
Musical Director Graham Magarry
Choreographer Helen Perris
Assistant Choreographer Sarea Coates
Production Manager Kathy Thomas
Assistant Production Manager Nola Russell
Stage Manager Myles Leon
Assistant Stage Manager Ryan d’Argeavel
Set Design Belinda Anyos, Lyndelle Ramsay, Nicole Small, Paul Tremble
Costume Design Janette Humphrey
Make Up Design Janette Humphrey, Sharon Kelly
Lighting Design Travis Harpley, Myles Leon, Michael Morse
Sound Design Michael Shilling


Cat in the Hat Aaron Grainger
Horton the Elephant/Who Jethro Robinson & Adam Moynihan
Jo Jo/Cadet Nathan Leach & Jake Fraser
Mayor of Who Graham Bauerle
Mayor's Wife Robyn Page
Monkey Wickersham Brother 1 Brandon Girvan
Monkey Wickersham Brother 2 Alex Jordan
Monkey Wickersham Brother 3 Andrew Clucas
Gertrude McFuzz Helen Perris
Mayzie La Bird Sarah Tremble
Sour Kangaroo Shoshanna Honey-Erlandson
Bird Girl Singer 1 Sandra d’Argeavel
Bird Girl Singer 3 Laura Aksila
Bird Girl Singer 2 Alyce Nesbitt
General Genghis Khan Schmitz Brian Daly
Vlad Vladikoff/José the Pool Boy Scott Byrne
Thing 1 Alexa Peggie
Thing 2 Anna Rafferty
The Grinch/Chorus Peter Rousell
Chorus (Who Adults) Zoe Baldwin, Kirsten Brooks (Understudy Mayzie), Tara Davidson, Pamela Kelly, Elena Kirschbaum, Tom Lambert, Joanna Lawrence, Kate Rafferty, Rosemary Synnott
Chorus (Jungle Animals and Dancers) Danielle Carter, Sonia Frizzell, Kirsten Haussmann, Alyssa Morse, Kirsten Pawlicki, Nicole Smigielski
Chorus (Circus) Tom Davis, Elena Kirschbaum, Lewis West
Chorus (Who Kids and Cadets) Lucy Allan, Brittany Ashman, Alexandra Carson, Casey Edwards, Kiarna Kavanagh-Beck, Emma Nilsson, Tayla Page, Dayne Spencer, Jarred Synnott


Band leader/Piano Graham Magarry
Drums/Percussion Aaron Weissmann
Percussion/Page turning Ryan d'Argeavel


Canberra Area Theatre AwardsReceived

Best Musical  
Best Actor in a Leading Role (Musical) Adam Moynihan
Best Director of a Musical Belinda Anyos
Best Set Designer (Musical) Belinda Anyos & Lyndelle Ramsay

Canberra Area Theatre AwardNominations

Best Actor in a Leading Role (Musical) Aaron Grainger
Best Actress in a Leading Role (Musical) Helen Perris
Best Chorus  
Best Musical Director Graham Magarry
Best Costumes Janette Humphrey