Little Shop of Horrors

Book and lyrics by Howard Ashman, music by Alan Menken

Season 9-24 September 2005
Venue Street Theatre


“On the 23rd day of the month of September in an early year of a decade not too long before our own, the human race suddenly encountered a deadly threat to its very existence, and this terrifying enemy surfaced as such enemies often do in the seemingly most innocent and unlikely of places…”

So begins Little Shop of Horrors.

This great musical tells the story of a down-and-out Skid Row floral assistant by the name of Seymour Krelbourn, who after a total eclipse of the sun, discovers an alien plant. Seymour longs for fame fortune and the heart of his one true love, Audrey, an assistant at the florist shop. The florist shop is owned by Mr Mushnik and after watching his Skid Row business struggle he agrees to display Seymour’s unusual plant in his shop window.

Amazed by the plant, customers flock to the store and business increases, as does Seymour’s fame and attention from Audrey. All is going well until it becomes obvious to Seymour that the plants survival depends on its supply of human blood. Seymour is lured into feeding the plant, by “disposing” of Audrey’s violent boyfriend Orin, the sadistic dentist. The plant grows into an ill-tempered, foul-mouthed, R&B singing carnivore who finally reveals itself to be an alien creature poised for global domination!


Director Kelda McManus
Musical Director Ewan Harwood
Choreographer Annette Sharpe
Production Manager Pam McManus
Stage Manager  
Set Design Jansson Antmann
Costume Design Janette Humphrey
Plant Contruction Ryan d'Argeavel
Lighting and Sound Design Chris Neal (Eclipse)


Seymour David Evans
Audrey Amy Dunham
Mr Mushnik Jon Garland
Audrey 2 (Voice) Ron Dowd
Audrey 2 (Operation) Brian Kavanagh
Orin (Dentist) David Cannell
Crystal Renay Hart
Chiffon Emma White
Ronette Marie Donnell
Ensemble Michael Beilken, Kirsten Brooks, Peita Chappell, Bryn Clapp, Sandra d'Argeavel, Rebecca Halpin, Michael Heming, Amy Moon, Dim Ristevski, Gaby Schmid, Michelle Tisdell


Canberra Area Theatre AwardsReceived

Best Chorus  

Canberra Area Theatre AwardNominations

Best Actor in a Leading Role (Musical) David Evans
Best Actress in a Leading Role (Musical) Amy Dunham
Best Actress in a Supporting Role (Musical) The Ronnettes
Best Musical  
Best Director of a Musical Kelda McManus
Best Choreography Annette Sharpe
Best Set Jansson Janus Antmann